The Interview: Teresa Nash

Teresa's mysterious eyes gaze outward in a quasi-anonymous photo.

  In cyberspace, she is wickedwahine_69, a poetess extraordinaire, with in your-face, no holds barred stanzas and prose grabs readers by the throat and doesn’t let go. There is no mistaking the power of Teresa Nash’s words. Vulnerable yet fierce, feminine yet strong, in the space of a few years her ambiguous, emotive works have catapulted her from the ranks of Hennen’s anonymous cognoscenti to one of the top writers in its pantheon. Though she is anonymous no more, like her namesake, she is ferocious in her determination to succeed–but as Hennen’s John Winn found out in a telephone interview, she has a softer side as well (and a soft spot for Thundercats as well…sort of).

 JW: What is it like to live in the Mile High City?

TN: I was born and raised here, so I’m kind of used to it.

JW: I mean, is it cold?  Is it windy?

TN: It’s beautiful here in Colorado. We can have all seasons in one day.  I like the big blizzards and stuff we get in the wintertime.  Spring time is great, and summer is usually hot.  Fall is gorgeous here.

JW: Where did the moniker wickedwahine_69 come from?

TN: Wickedwahine means “badass chick” or “mean woman”.  It’s Hawaiian. Intuitively it means badass chick.

JW: You’re a nurse at a large hospital in Denver.  Do you find yourself incorporating aspects of that into your writing?

TN: Certainly! Definitely my work is something I write about so I get it all out and don’t carry stuff over from the week before.

JW: Are there any subjects that make you uncomfortable to write about? Like “hey, this is too much for me!”

TN: No.  I think whatever is in my heart is on paper.  If it’s uncomfortable to read, that’s one thing.  But to write about?  No.

JW: Do you feel the anonymity of your online presence strengthens or weakens your work?

TN: I am not sure.  Anonymity mattered to me when I first wrote on Hennen’s but not anymore since I’ve gotten to know people.  But I’m not hiding behind my words–I’m using mine to connect with people I guess.

JW: In addition to free style poetry you also dabble in haiku.  How is that different from you usual fare?

TN: I’m sorry, I did not hear that.

JW: You do write poetry and prose. You’ve been dabbling in haikus–like the Hawaiian haikus and some of the other stuff.  How is that different from the stuff you usually write?

TN: I guess I’m growing as I write a bit more.  I see what other people write and it inspires me to last.

JW: You’ve recently collaborated with Alberto Alazamora on spoken word tracks.  What was that like, and is there any chance we’ll see more like that in the future?

TN: Yeah, definitely.  I had fun working with Alberto and some of the other writers on the site.  Alberto’s probably one of the easiest people to work with because he comes up with ideas and emails them to me so that’s great.  If anyone wants to collaborate with me I’m more than happy to do so.

JW: Anyone chance you’ll branch out and do a blog or a website soon?

TN: Yeah, probably.  Right now we’re getting ready to move back to Hawaii.  So as soon as we get back there and get settled we’re probably going to do that.

JW: Final question [paper ruffles]: Who is your favorite superhero and why?

TN: Cheetara.

JW:  Any of the Thundercats?

TN: Just Cheetara. She was the bomb when I was a kid and we still watch her on the old school channels.

JW: You have a daughter right?

TN: Just one.

JW: Does she watch the cartoons as well?

TN: Yes, she does.

JW: Has the Cheetara cult expanded?

TN: Yeah, she’s watched [Thundercats] enough times to drive my husband crazy. When we got the DVDs from the library he finally put his foot down.

JW: No more Cheetara.

TN: [Laughs].  Not when he’s watching TV.

JW: I guess he watches hockey, baseball…

TN: He likes his Hawaii paddler shows so…

JW: Thank you for the interview.

TN: Thank you guys for having Hennen’s.  It’s an awesome place to vent and try to touch people.

 

