Curiouser and Curiouser

By Megan Robb

Pinned over my desk at work is a page from an Alice in Wonderland coloring book that my friend colored in and sent to me. It’s not some relic from my childhood; the date written on it is 9/08. Most of my personal mementoes are at my parents’ house, so when it came time for my desk to look like it belonged to me, the Alice picture is one of the things I put up. My friend’s given me many Alice in Wonderland-themed gifts over the years, but I never really identified with the heroine until recently. Throughout my life, I’ve often unintentionally found myself in very odd situations.

This was usually because I have a very poor sense of direction, even with a GPS. Eventually, though, the mantra “It will give me something to write about” became etched into my mind. Even now I sometimes seek strange environments just for the sake of my writing. The ability to adapt is something I’m still cultivating. Like Alice, I just have to accept my circumstances and go from there.

On 9/08, the time I received the Alice picture, I’d been living in Brooklyn for three months after moving from Poughkeepsie, New York. On 9/09, I had just moved from the Bronx back to Poughkeepsie. By 9/10, I was living in Raleigh, North Carolina. I’m still in Raleigh, but I haven’t completely shaken off the feeling of being a stranger. I still don’t really know my surroundings well enough to be able to call them home. It’s not that I’m looking to come out of the rabbit hole. It’s just that I’m not sure which end I’m on anymore.

I’m closing with a quote that not from the book of Alice in Wonderland, but the 1951 Disney version, the one my picture came from

“When I get home I shall write a book about this place…if I ever do get home.”

Contributing writer Megan Robb is a writer, consultant and editor living in Raleigh, North Carolina. Her articles can be found at divot.com, wordhusterink.com, and cracked.com, as well as her personal website, megan-robb-writer.webs.com.

